1

人工辅助生殖技术及体外受精(简称IVF)技术发展史

子宫外受精的体外受精(简称IVF)技术由科学家罗伯.爱德华兹(Robert Edwards)及妇产专科柏特 (Patrick Steptoe) 首创于1960年代,他们共同任职于英国伦敦国王学院。当时,科学家已经开始进行动物体外受精试验并取得令人满意的试验结果。这些试验结果启发了爱德华与柏特,他们认为体外受精技术将为无法生育的夫妻带来巨大效益。

由于这项技术在当时引起争议,爱德华及柏特在寻求研究认证的过程中备受阻扰,当然也很难获得资金援助。然而,他们并未因此而气馁,两人在英国奥尔德姆成立了研究基地,同时在1978年成功让第一个体外受精女婴Louise Brown (试管婴儿)诞生在世界上!第二年,全球首个体外受精男婴 Alaistair Macdonald也随之诞生。.

当时参与体外受精技术研究的女性必须宣誓保密以保障自己的安全,原因在于这项技术在当年仍被大众视为太过激进的方法。成功的案例在医疗领域引起了大量关注,美国和澳洲的其他医院也在1980和1981年加入了体外受精行列。无论如何,治疗费用实在过于昂贵,仅有少数人能够负担得起。

即时付出最大的努力,成功率仍然停留在12%,因此成功受孕前往往需要进行数次的体外受精程序。女性也必须住院两个星期,让医生透过尿液检查来监控荷尔蒙水平,同时在收集卵子数小时后保持奇怪的身体姿势。虽然如此,人们对这项技术仍然非常有兴趣,想要生育宝宝的夫妇轮候名单很长。

今天,全球各地有超过500万个试管婴儿来到世上。这项治疗程序也更方便患者,女性只需要进行日间程序而不需要住院。随着冷冻储存科技面市,进行一次卵子抽取程序就可以培植出数个健康胚胎用于数次受孕。

随着医疗技术不断进步,成功率也大大提高。一些信誉悠久助孕中心(例如:丽阳助孕中心)的成功率更高达65%!现今的精密先进科技能帮助提高夫妇的受孕机率,同时在胚胎植入前筛检出染色体异常问题。

1

The History Of Assisted Conception And In Vitro Fertilisation (IVF)

In vitro fertilisation (IVF), which means fertilisation outside the womb, was first started in the 1960s by scientist Robert Edwards and gynaecologist Patrick Steptoe, who were colleagues at King’s College, London. Scientists were already experimenting with animal fertilisation outside the body at that time with satisfactory results. It struck Edwards and Steptoe then that IVF would be greatly benefit couples who had problems conceiving.

As the practice was considered controversial at that time, Edwards and Steptoe had trouble getting their research recognised, what more funded. Undeterred, the duo set up base at Oldham, United Kingdom, where they successfully delivered the first IVF baby girl, Louise Brown in 1978. The first IVF baby boy, Alaistair Macdonald, was born the following year.

Women who partook in IVF back then were sworn to secrecy for their own safety, as the procedure was still considered too radical for the general public. The success stories created a lot of excitement around the medical world, and other hospitals in Australia and United States soon caught on in 1980 and 1981. However, treatment was extremely costly, and very few could afford it.

Even with the best of efforts, success rates stood at 12%, hence several IVF attempts had to be made before achieving a successful pregnancy. Women also had to stay in the hospital for two weeks for doctors to monitor their hormone levels through urine tests, and adopt awkward physical positions for hours after egg harvesting. Despite that, interest was tremendous, with long waiting lists among couples who yearned to have babies.

Today, more than five million IVF babies have been born around the world. The treatment process is patient-friendly, where women only need to do day procedures instead of being warded. A single egg harvesting procedure can produce sufficient embryos for several pregnancies, with the availability of cyro freezing.

With medical advancements, success rates have risen in tandem. In Malaysia, established centres such as TMC Fertility Centre, success rates are at 65%. Highly sophisticated technologies today can also help couples increase pregnancy chances and detect chromosomal abnormalities before embryo implantation.