Treatment-Options

丽阳助孕中心(TMC Fertility)提供国际医疗领域采用、广泛多元的全方位生育治疗,足以媲美欧美国家的专业试管婴儿中心。然而,并非每个人都需要马上进行体外受精(试管婴儿)疗程。根据不孕情况的问题根源,治疗选项也将因人而异。

通过一些简单的助孕疗程,丽阳助孕中心已经帮助很多夫妇成功受孕,虽然他们过去可能尝试多年均无法受孕。

首先,医生可能会建议您尝试一些比较简单或侵入性较低的疗程,如有必要才进展至较为复杂的手术疗程。每对夫妇都将经过全面生育评估,进而建议适合个别情况的治疗选项。

部分夫妇可能只需要服用助孕药物或接受门诊部治疗程序,有些人则必需进行体外受精疗程(简称IVF)。

治疗选项将根据以下因素评估:

  • 年龄。女性在35岁后的受孕机率会自然下降。
  • 造成不孕的问题根源
  • 您与伴侣面对不孕问题的时间长短
  • 男性伴侣的精子品质
  • 您是否曾经怀孕(原发性或次发性生育能力低下)
  • 您是否曾经接受过助孕/生育治疗

辅助受孕的治疗

自然周期监测

有些妇女(尤其是月经周期不规则的女性)很难受孕的原因是无法准确计算排卵时间。

丽阳助孕中心医生可以协助这些患者判断排卵时间,进而建议他们在指定时间性交,或进行“不刺激排卵”的宫腔内人工授精(IUI) 程序,在无需使用药物的情况下成功达到怀孕目的。

natural-cycle-monitoring

排卵诱导

injection-3

大多数助孕疗程的初始步骤都是刺激卵巢产生更多卵子。这个过程被称为排卵诱导,女性会获得药物处方以提高卵巢内成熟卵子的数量。

在正常周期中,每个月经周期只会产生一个成熟卵子。透过提高成熟卵子的数量,女性成功受孕的机率也会随之提高。

排卵的药物选项包括

  • 口服药物,例如:服用5天的助孕药物(促进排卵的药物)
  • 在腹部脂肪位置注射药物,注射天数可以从4天到几个星期不等,根据不同疗程情况而定。
  • 结合口服药物及注射药物

一旦开始药物疗程,每隔几天就要尽享骨盆腔超音波扫描确定卵子的成熟过程。部分情况也可能需要进行血液检查作为监测用途。

一旦卵子已经达到最佳体积,就会配给药物帮助卵子熟成及释放。

所有接受这项疗程的患者都必须接受咨商辅导,教育他们如何正确使用药物。接受助孕疗程期间可能会引起一些副作用,其中包括腹部饱胀、下腹部不适、头痛和疲劳。

助孕药物及指定性交时间

这个简单方法适合月经周期不规则(例如:多囊性卵巢症)的女性,或经过初步评估没有“重大”问题的夫妇。

首先会配给为期5天的助孕药物处方,在月经期结束后的几天开始使用。月经周期中旬接近“排卵日”时,将会安排进行超音波检查以评估卵子发展情况,同时建议最适合性交的的日期。

fertility-pills-and-timed-intercourse
tr2

宫腔内人工授精(Intra-Uterine Insemination ,IUI)

宫腔内人工授精(IUI)适合男性伴侣精子质量低于正常标准(例如:精子数量过低或游得太慢)的不孕夫妻。

在正常受孕过程中,健康的精子必须穿越子宫颈通往子宫,进而前进至输卵管抵达卵巢。如果男性存在上述问题,受孕的机率将会降低。

宫腔内人工授精(IUI)程序必须收集及清洗男性的精子,确保筛选出最健康的精子。这些精子接着会通过导管避开子宫颈直接放入伴侣的子宫内,减少精子抵达卵子受精的距离。

女性必须至少有一边输卵管是通畅(没有阻塞)的,这项治疗才可以取得成功。

体外受精IVF (In-Vitro Fertilisation,简称IVF)

体外受精(IVF)是一个让卵子(医学上称为卵母细胞)在身体外面与精子结合的程序。IVF是各种现有助孕疗程中受孕成功率最高的治疗选项。

这项疗程包括:

  • 刺激多个卵子产生(排卵诱导)
  • 从卵巢中采集卵母细胞(Oocyte Pick Up,简称OPU),这个程序必须通过产道进行。患者需要进入浅麻醉状态。
  • 在胚胎实验室进行受精程序,让卵子与精子结合成受精卵并在特殊培养器皿中成长。
  • 胚胎移植。从受精过程中挑选出最优质的胚胎,然后在3~5天后重新植入子宫内,让胚胎成功著床后就能成功怀孕。
tr4

卵母细胞体外成熟技术(In-Vitro Maturation,简称IVM)

ivm-in-vitro-maturation-2

卵母细胞体外成熟技术(IVM)过程与试管婴儿非常相似,包括从女方的卵巢中提取卵子、然后在实验室受精,最后再把一个或多个受精胚胎植入女性的子宫。

两者之间的关键区别在于卵子的成熟位置。体外受精(IVF)的卵子在卵巢内成熟,卵母细胞体外成熟技术(IVM)会从卵巢取出未成熟的卵子,然后在体外(胚胎实验室)催促成熟。

IVM无需像体外受精般过度刺激卵巢,因此省去了长时间每天注射药物的情况。患者只需要服用荷尔蒙药物或栓剂。

未成熟的卵子一旦被抽取,将放置在含有黄体生成激素和促卵泡激素的特殊培养器皿中,以加快卵子熟化过程。一旦卵子成熟便会授精结合。新形成的胚胎会在四天内植入子宫。

IVM是一个比较便宜的替代治疗选项,需要较少的药物,同时也能降低卵巢过度刺激综合症(Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome ,简称OHSS)的风险。

微刺激体外受精(Mini IVF)

微刺激体外受精可能适合一些无法忍受助孕药物副作用,或者曾经发生过卵巢过度刺激综合症的患者。

刺激排卵将通过服用助孕药物或低剂量注射药物来刺激排卵,采集卵母细胞(OPU)的程序则与传统体外受精技术相同。无论如何,由于每次周期的成熟卵子数量比较少,选择这个疗程的夫妇可能需要更多治疗周期才能成功受孕。

精卵输卵管植入技术(GIFT)

精卵输卵管植入技术(Gamete Intra Fallopian Transfer,简称GIFT)程序与体外受精技术大同小异。首先,必须刺激排卵产生尽可能大量成熟卵子。一旦抽取出卵母细胞,就会把卵子放在提供特殊丰富营养的环境下观察及培育。

同一时间,医生将会提取男性的精液样本,接着进行清洗并筛选出最好的精子。这些优质精子将与伴侣的卵子一起装载到导管并植入女性输卵管中,在女性身体内自然受精。这个程序的目的在于模仿人类的自然受孕过程。

惟有在符合女性输卵管正常,男性也拥有足够数量精子的条件下,才能够进行精卵输卵管植入技术。

ivf

ICSI

卵胞浆内单精子显微注射技术(ICSI)是由胚胎专家执行的额外程序,在显微镜的帮助下将单个精子直接注入卵细胞内。这个过程通常结合体外受精(试管婴儿)一起进行。

ICSI 推荐

ICSI程序一般适用于精子数量少、活力低或质量差的男性伴侣。 由于此技术不靠精子自行找到卵子结合,因而能增加受精及怀孕的机会率。如果男性精子存在严重问题,在体外受精过程中额外进行卵胞浆内单精子显微注射技术帮助精子直接穿透卵子,将有助于提高受精成功率和受孕率。ICSI也适用于抽取卵子后发现仅有数颗可用卵子的情况。

囊胚培植及移植技术

囊胚培植是新一代体外受精技术,让成功受精的卵子或胚胎培植至第5天(称为囊胚培植)才重新植入子宫内,而不是像过去般在第2-3天就植入胚胎。

囊胚是发育比较健全和成熟的胚胎阶段,相比起第3天只有8~10个细胞,囊胚阶段已经进展为有70至100个细胞。囊胚阶段已经分化成2种不同细胞类型,例如:未来的胎盘细胞和胎儿细胞。

blastocyst-culture-transfer-3

囊胚培植的好处包括:

  • 更好的受孕成功率,因为胚胎已经进展成胚胎异常可能性很少的囊胚阶段。
  • 精选出能够在体外存活5天的“坚强”胚胎。
  • 避免多胎妊娠的风险(例如:三胞胎),因为,助孕医生最多不会植入超过两个囊胚。

丽阳助孕中心的囊胚培植及移植技术,均保持着卓越妊娠成功率的记录。原因是较健全和成熟的囊胚才会被选取然后重新植入子宫内。

囊胚培植将由胚胎专家或医生执行,并且将会在第2-3天评估是否出现质量好的胚胎。

冷冻胚胎移植

全球各地试管婴儿中心研究数据显示,冷冻胚胎移植(冷冻的健康胚胎,几个月后才移植入子宫)和新鲜胚胎移植(与采集卵母细胞体进行外受精程序在同一个星期内移植的胚胎)的成功率大同小异,有些情况下甚至可能提供更多好处。

冷冻胚胎移植可以降低卵巢过度刺激综合症(Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome ,简称OHSS)的风险,这是体外受精程序可能出现的危险并发症。透过延迟胚胎移植的时间,让因体外受精程序助孕药物而飙升的荷尔蒙水平有时间恢复到正常状态,制造出更近似于初期妊娠的自然宫内环境。

Treatment-Options-1

此技术可能带来的好处包括:

  • 妊娠成功率更高
  • 降低流产机率
Treatment-Options-2
advanced-laparoscopic-keyhole-surgery

创新先进的腹腔镜微创手术

结构性问题也可能是不孕问题的重要原因,例如:输卵管阻塞、子宫内膜异位症、子宫肌瘤、卵巢囊肿等等。有时候,透过手术矫正这些问题就能让女性自然受孕。

进行微创手术时,外科医生会在腹部位置切割1cm的小伤口,腹腔镜(微型望远镜)和体积大约5mm的手术器具将会透过这个切口进入到子宫腔。腹腔镜会将内部器官的情况显示在电脑屏幕,引导外科医生切除子宫内的增生物或矫正任何不正常情况。

由于手术伤口非常微小,因此疼痛程度会减少、伤口更微细,康复时间也更迅速。腹腔镜手术通常属于日间手术。夫妇可能在手术后3-4星期开始尝试受孕,或者等到女方觉得适合进行性交的时候。

Treatment-Options-4

胚胎辅助孵化

为了帮助胚胎成功在子宫内著床,胚胎首先必须脱离保护壳(透明带)完成孵化过程。有些女性的保护层却相对比较“坚韧”,造成胚胎难以孵化及成功著床。

辅助孵化是一种显微操作技术,胚胎专家首先必须把胚胎的保护壳(透明带) 变薄或钻一个小孔,帮助胚胎孵化。胚胎辅助孵化可以提高受孕成功率。

胚胎植入前基因诊断 (PGD)

每个期待小生命降临的父母都担心自己的宝宝是否正常健康。真相是,所有女性都有染色体不正常妊娠的风险,尤其是年龄超过35岁的女性。

过去,年龄35岁以上的怀孕妇女可以透过绒毛膜穿刺采样(简称CVS)或羊膜穿刺来检测染色体异常问题(例如:唐氏综合症)。无论如何,一旦检测出胎儿不正常,他们往往必需作出到底是否保留胎儿或终止怀孕的痛苦决定。 更多阅读 →

手术取精技术 (通过MESA, PESA 或 TESE)

当男方射出的精液中只有少量精子或没有精子,可以通过几个程序来获取精子,例如:微附睾精子抽吸术(MESA)、经皮附睾精子抽吸术(PESA)和睾丸取精术(TESE)。这些取出的精子将会用于进行卵胞浆内单精子显微注射技术(ICSI)或体外受精(IVF)。

进行微附睾精子抽吸术(MESA)时,外科医生会在阴囊切割一个小伤口,利用特制管道直接从附睾提取精子。附睾是一个连接着睾丸、形成精子通道的曲折细长精管。整个过程仅需30分钟,而且只需局部麻醉。经皮附睾精子抽吸(PESA)的过程与MESA相似,但不涉及微创外科手术。进行PESA时,医生会使用针穿透阴囊和附睾,抽取精子至注射器中。

如果MESA失败,一般就会进行睾丸取精术(TESE)。TESE程序需要移除少部份睾丸组织以抽取精子。

Treatment-Options

TMC Fertility Centre offers the full range of fertility treatments available internationally, comparable to IVF centres in Europe or America. However, not everyone needs IVF right away. Treatment options will vary according to the underlying cause of your fertility problems.

TMC Fertility Centre in Malaysia has helped many couples conceive with simple fertility treatments even though they may have been trying to get pregnant for many years.

Your doctor may suggest trying simple measures or less invasive procedures first, progressing to more complex surgeries if necessary. Every couple will be assessed comprehensively and individualised treatment recommended. Some couples may just require fertility tablets or out-patient daycare procedure, while others may need to undergo In Vitro Fertilisation (IVF).

Treatment will depend on

  • Age, as female fertility rates naturally fall after 35 years old
  • The underlying cause of fertility problem
  • How long you and your partner have had fertility problems
  • The quality of male partner’s sperm
  • Whether you have had a previous pregnancy (primary or secondary infertility)
  • Whether you have had previous fertility treatments

Fertility Treatments

Natural Cycle Monitoring

Some women, especially those with irregular menses, do not conceive because of difficulties timing their ovulation.

TMC doctors can monitor these patients to determine when ovulation occurs, and advise timed intercourse or assist by performing ‘unstimulated’ intrauterine insemination (IUI) to achieve pregnancies even without any medications.

natural-cycle-monitoring

Ovulation Induction

injection-3

The first step in most fertility treatment is to stimulate egg production. This is known as Ovulation Induction, whereby the women will be given medications to increase the development of more mature eggs in the ovaries.

In a natural cycle, only one mature egg is produced per menstrual cycle. By increasing the number of mature eggs, her chances of conceiving would be higher.

Medications to stimulate eggs can either be

  • taken orally, ie, fertility tablets for 5 days
  • injections into the fatty part of the abdomen, from 4 days up till a few weeks, depending on which treatment regimen
  • combination of both pills and injections

Once medications have started, pelvic ultrasound scans will be done every few days to assess the development of the eggs.

Sometimes, blood tests may been done to monitor the progress as well.

Once the eggs have reached the optimal size, medication will be given to mature and release the eggs.

All patients undergoing treatment will be counselled and taught to administer their medications. Some effects of fertility treatment may be felt during this time, including bloatedness, discomfort over her lower abdomen, headaches and fatigue.

Fertility Pills and Timed Intercourse

This simple measure is suitable for women who have irregular menses, eg, PCOS, or couples who do not have any ‘major’ problems after initial assessment.

Fertility tablets are prescribed for 5 days, starting a few days after the menses. Ultrasound monitoring will be scheduled near her ‘ovulation’ day in the middle of the cycle to assess her egg development, and the best days for intercourse will be advised.

fertility-pills-and-timed-intercourse
tr2

IUI (Intra-Uterine Insemination)

IUI (Intra-Uterine Insemination) treatment is suitable for couples whereby the male partner’s sperm parameters as slightly below average, eg, low sperm count or slow swimmers.

In a normal pregnancy, healthy sperm needs to pass through the cervix, up the uterus and down through the fallopian tubes to reach the ovaries. If male factor problem is present, then chances of pregnancy is reduced.

The IUI (Intra-Uterine Insemination) procedure involves collecting the man’s semen and cleaning them to select only the healthiest ones. These are then deposited directly into the uterus of the spouse with a catheter, bypassing the cervix, and reducing the distance for the sperm to reach the egg.

At least one of the fallopian tubes need to be patent (not blocked) for this treatment to be successful.

IVF (In-Vitro Fertilisation)

In Vitro Fertilisation (IVF) is a process by which eggs (medically known as oocytes) are fertilised by the sperm outside of the body. IVF offers the highest success rates for pregnancy among the various fertility treatments available.

The process includes:

  • Stimulating the development of multiple eggs (Ovulation Induction)
  • Collection of the oocytes from the ovaries, Oocyte Pick Up (OPU), which is done via the birth canal. Patients are placed under light anaesthesia.
  • Fertilisation in the embryology lab, where the eggs are fertilised with sperm and allowed to develop in a special culture medium
  • Embryo Transfer. The best resulting embryo(s) from the fertilisation process are then placed back into the uterus after 3 or 5 days, where they will hopefully implant and progress on to a successful pregnancy.
tr4

IVM (In-Vitro Maturation)

ivm-in-vitro-maturation-2

In Vitro Maturation (IVM) is almost similar to IVF, involving the retrieval of eggs from a woman’s ovaries, followed by fertilisation in a lab, and then implantation of one or more of the fertilised embryos back into the woman’s uterus.

The crucial difference is the state of the eggs at the point of retrieval. With IVF, the eggs are matured inside the ovaries, while in IVM, immature eggs are retrieved from the ovaries and then matured out of the body, in the embryology laboratory.

Unlike IVF, IVM requires no hyperstimulation of the ovaries, which eliminates the need for prolonged daily injections of medications. Instead patients will only need to take hormones in the form of a pill or a suppository.

Once harvested, the immature eggs are placed in a special culture dish containing a combination of luteinising hormones and follicle stimulating hormones. Once matured, they are then inseminated with sperm. The newly formed embryos are then transferred back into the uterus within four days of retrieval.

IVM may be a cheaper treatment alternative requiring less medications and a reduced risk of Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome (OHSS).

Minimal Stimulation IVF (Mini IVF)

Minimal stimulation IVF may be suitable for patients who are unable to tolerate the side effects of fertility medications or who have had previous episode of Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome.

Ovulation induction will be done with oral fertility tablets, or low dose fertility injections, and egg retrieval (OPU) done, similar to a conventional IVF. However, due to the lower number of mature eggs available each cycle, couples opting for this treatment may need more treatment cycles to achieve pregnancy.

GIFT (Gamete Intra-Fallopian Transfer)

Gamete Intra Fallopian Transfer (GIFT) is almost similar to the IVF procedure, where the woman will first be stimulated to produce as many ripe eggs as possible. Once extracted, they will be observed and cultured in a special nutrient.

Meanwhile, the man’s sperm will be collected, cleaned and selected. The best sperms will then be placed on the same catheter as the spouse’s eggs. Both eggs and sperm will then be deposited into the woman’s fallopian tubes and allowed to fertilise naturally inside the woman’s body. The process is meant to mimic the natural pregnancy process as much as possible.

GIFT can only be performed if the fallopian tubes are normal and there are adequate number of sperms.

ivf

ICSI

Intra-cytoplasmic sperm injection (ICSI) is an additional procedure done by the embryologists, whereby a single sperm injected directly into each egg under a microscope guidance in conjunction with an In Vitro Fertilisation (IVF) cycle .

ICSI Recommendation

ICSI is recommended when the male partner has very low sperm count, motility or poor sperm quality. This extra step during the IVF process helps increase fertilisation and pregnancy rates substantially in cases of severe male factor problems by helping the sperm penetrate the egg. ICSI may also be done when there are only a few eggs available after egg retrieval.

Blastocyst Culture and Transfer

A blastocyst culture is the next evolution in IVF whereby the fertilised eggs, or embryos, are cultured to Day 5 (called blastocysts) and transferred back to the womb, instead of the traditional Day 2 or 3 embryos.

A blastocyst is a more advanced and mature stage of embryo development, which has between 70-100 cells, as compared to 8-10 cells of a Day 3 embryo. The blastocyst has already divided into 2 distinct cells types, ie, the future placental cells, and the future fetus cells.

blastocyst-culture-transfer-3

The benefits of doing a blastocyst transfer are:

  • Higher pregnancy rates, as embryos that developed into blastocysts less likely to be abnormal
  • Selecting the ‘toughest’ embryos that managed to survive outside the body for 5 days
  • Avoiding multiple pregnancies like triplets as fertility doctors only transfer no more than two blastocysts.

TMC Fertility Centre has an excellent track record of successful clinical pregnancy rates using blastocyst culture and transfer technique, as only the embryos with the most potential to implant will be selected for transfer to the woman’s uterus.

Blastocyst culture will be advised by the embryologist or doctor if there are a good number of embryos on Day 2 or 3.

Frozen Embryo Transfer

Studies from IVF centres worldwide are showing that IVF pregnancies following a frozen embryo transfer (healthy embryos frozen, and transferred after a few months) vs fresh transfer (embryos transferred within the same week of undergoing IVF egg pickup procedure) are similar, and sometimes even have additional benefits.

Planning a frozen transfer can reduce the risk of Ovarian Hyper Stimulation Syndrome, OHSS, a potentially dangerous complication of IVF treatment. By delaying the transfer of embryos, the super-elevated hormone levels in the body resulting from IVF medications would have time to return to normal, thus mimicking a more natural environment for the early part of pregnancy.

Treatment-Options-1

Some possible benefits include:

  • Higher pregnancy rates
  • Lower miscarriage rates
Treatment-Options-2
advanced-laparoscopic-keyhole-surgery

Advanced Laparoscopic Keyhole Surgery

Structural problems such as blocked fallopian tubes, endometriosis, fibroids and ovarian cysts may play a part in fertility problems. Surgery to correct these problems may sometimes enable women to conceive naturally.

During this minimally invasive surgery, the surgeon makes a small 1 cm incision at the abdominal area where a laparoscope (small telescope) and surgical instruments measuring 5 mm are inserted into the uterine cavity. The laparoscope displays the condition of the internal organs on a computerised screen to guide the surgeon remove any uterine growths or correct any abnormalities.

As the surgical wound is very small, there is less pain, smaller scars and quicker recovery time. Laparoscopic surgeries are usually conducted as a day surgery. The couple can try having a baby within 3-4 weeks of the surgery or when the woman feels comfortable enough for intercourse.

Treatment-Options-4

Assisted Hatching

In order for an embryo to implant in the uterus, it will first hatch out of its shell (zona pellucida). In some cases, the shell has ‘toughened up’, preventing the embryo from hatching and implanting subsequently.

Assisted hatching is a micromanipulation technique where the embryologist thins the layer of shell or makes a tiny hole at the shell to help it hatch. Assisting the egg hatch will increase pregnancy success.

Pre-implantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD)

Every expectant parent wonders if their babies are normal and healthy. The truth is that all women have a risk of a pregnancy with abnormal chromosomes, particularly if the woman is above 35 years old.

In the past, pregnant women above 35 may be tested with chorionic villus sampling (CVS) or amniocentesis for chromosome abnormalities, such as Down Syndrome. However, they will have to make the painful decision to either keep or stop the pregnancy when the babies are found to be abnormal. Read More →

Surgical Sperm Retrieval (MESA, PESA or TESE)

For male patients who have very little or no sperm in their ejaculated semen, sperm may be obtained by several procedures such as Micro Epididymal Sperm Aspiration (MESA), Percutaneous Epididymal Sperm Aspiration (PESA) and Testicular Sperm Extraction (TESE). The sperms retrieved will then be used for ICSI and IVF procedures.

In MESA, the surgeon makes a small cut in the scrotum and gathers the sperm at the epididymis, the elongated coiled duct that provides passage of the sperm from the testes. This is a minor surgical procedure which takes 30 minutes to perform and only requires local anaesthesia.

PESA is similar to MESA but does not involve microsurgery. For PESA, the physician uses a needle to penetrate the scrotum and epididymis to draw sperm into a syringe. TESE is usually performed when MESA has failed. It involves the removal of a small amount of testicular tissue in order to retrieve sperms.