每个期待小生命降临的父母都担心自己的宝宝是否正常健康。真相是,所有女性都有染色体不正常妊娠的风险,尤其是年龄超过35岁的女性。

过去,年龄35岁以上的怀孕妇女可以透过绒毛膜穿刺采样(简称CVS)或羊膜穿刺来检测染色体异常问题(例如:唐氏综合症)。无论如何,一旦检测出胎儿不正常,他们往往必需作出到底是否保留胎儿或终止怀孕的痛苦决定。

胚胎植入前基因诊断(PGD)也称为植入前基因筛检(Pre-implantation Screening,简称 PGS) 。这项诊断技术能够减少胎儿检测出异常后必需决定是否终止妊娠的痛苦情况,因为,只有染色体正常的胚胎才会植入子宫。建议年龄超过35岁的女性、罹患遗传性基因疾病、习惯性流产、体外受精失败或性传染疾病的患者接受胚胎植入前基因诊断。

PGD通常与体外受精程序同时进行。在第3-5天从胚胎抽取1-2个细胞进行PGD检测,评估是否有可能导致流产或基因相关疾病的染色体缺陷。这个技术可确保筛选出健康的胚胎植入子宫著床,提高妊娠成功率及生出健康宝宝的机率。

11589426_ml

不同功能的胚胎植入前基因诊断(PGD)技术

pgd-fish

荧光原位杂交 - FISH

荧光原位杂交 (Fluorescent In-Situ Hybridization,简称FISH) 技术是一种用于检测数值染色体异常的技术,例如:唐氏综合症、伯陶氏综合症(Patau Syndrom)或爱德华氏症(Edward’s Syndrome)。 它也可以用于检测异常的性染色体(X&Y),例如:透纳氏症( Turner’s Syndrome)、 柯林菲特氏症(Klinefelter’s Syndrome)和XXX超女综合症。目前已经有了最新检测技术, 原因在于FISH存在局限性。

pgd-pcr

聚合酶链锁反应 – PCR

这种被称为聚合酶链锁反应 (Polymerase Chain Reaction,简称PCR) 的独特技术,通常用于进行检测遗传性疾病,例如:α-型地中海贫血,β-型地中海贫血或血友病。PCR技术采用高度敏感性分析法检测基因胚胎是否有不正常情况。

p3

PGD – Micro-array CGH (24-Chromosome Aneuploidy Screening)

PGD – 微数组比较基因组杂交 – 24组染色体非整倍体 (染色体异常) 筛查
这项筛查技术通常建议给年龄超过35岁及经常性流产的女性。目前,大部份的生育中心只能提供筛选5~12染色体筛查。丽阳助孕中心是亚洲首个能提供了这项全新胚胎植入前诊断技术~微数组比较基因组杂交的助孕中心。这项技术让我们能在一次自动化检测中筛查所有24组染色体(包括决定性别的染色体)。

这项技术可以帮助我们在将胚胎移植至子宫之前,优先确认存在胚胎中的正确染色体数目,提高成功妊娠率及增加夫妇拥有正常健康宝宝的可能性。这项技术尤其能够帮助高龄孕妇,原因在于不正常胚胎的机率会随着年龄增长而提高。进行PGD胚胎植入前诊断并确保染色体数目正常的胚胎才被植入子宫,40岁女性的成功受孕率与28岁女性近乎相同。

p4

次世代定序 - NGS

次世代定序 (Next Generation Sequencing,简称 NGS) 是目前最先进的胚胎植入前基因诊断技术,给予每个筛查样本额外的基因分子编码,减少筛查错误的可能性。有别于过去使用荧光或标记的 PGD诊断技术,NGS技术将直接对获取自胚胎的基因进行检测定序。

次世代定序基因诊断能从胚胎的单一细胞检测24个染色体,除了获得胚胎情况的资讯,也能预测宝宝未来的潜在健康风险。随着时间推移,NGS技术预计将会改变基因世界的现况,在生产前就能为更准确地预测一个人未来的健康情况,充分验证了“次世代定序”这个技术名称。

Every expectant parent wonders if their babies are normal and healthy. The truth is that all women have a risk of a pregnancy with abnormal chromosomes, particularly if the woman is above 35 years old.

In the past, pregnant women above 35 may be tested with chorionic villus sampling (CVS) or amniocentesis for chromosome abnormalities, such as Down Syndrome. However, they will have to make the painful decision to either keep or stop the pregnancy when the babies are found to be abnormal.

Pre-implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD), also known as Pre-implantation Genetic Screening (PGS) eliminates the dilemma of deciding on pregnancy termination in the event the tested fetus turns out to be abnormal, as only chromosomally normal embryos are replaced into the womb. PGD is highly recommended for women above 35, patients with inherent genetic diseases, recurrent miscarriages and IVF failures, or sexually-related diseases.

PGD is done in conjunction with an IVF cycle. With PGD, one or two cells are taken from the embryo on Day 3 or 5, and assessed for chromosomal defects that may lead to miscarriages or genetic disorders. This technique ensures only embryos that are healthy will be selected for transfer into the uterus for implantation, improving the likelihood of a successful pregnancy and the birth of a normal baby.

11589426_ml

There are different types of PGDs for different functions

pgd-fish

PGD – FISH

Fluorescent In-Situ Hybridization (FISH) is the first technique used to detect numerical chromosomal abnormalities such as Down’s Syndrome, Patau Syndrome or Edward’s Syndrome. It can also be used to detect abnormalities in the sex chromosomes (X & Y) such as Turner’s Syndrome, Klinefelter’s Syndrome and Super Female XXX. Newer tests are now available as this test has its limitations.

pgd-pcr

PGD – PCR

A technique known as Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) is usually performed to detect genetic disorders such as Alpha-thalassaemia, Beta-thalassaemia or Haemophilia. The PCR technique involves a highly sensitive analysis of the embryo’s DNA to check for abnormalities.

p3

PGD – Micro-array CGH (24-Chromosome Aneuploidy Screening)

This screening is usually recommended for women, usually above 35 of age, with recurrent miscarriages. Most fertilty centres are only able to screen 5-12 chromosomes. TMC Fertility Centre is the first centre in Asia to offer the Microarray CGH (aCGH) PGD, which enables us to screen all 24 chromosomes (including the sex chromosomes) at the same time.

This helps to confirm that the embryo has the correct number of chromosomes before transferring to the uterus, leading to a successful pregnancy and increasing the likelihood for a couple to have a normal and healthy baby. This is particularly helpful in women in higher age groups, as abnormal embryos increase with the patients’ age. The success rates of a 40 year-old woman, is almost similar to a 28 year old-woman if chromosomally normal embryos are replaced after PGD testing.

p4

PGD-NGS

The Next Generation Sequencing (NGS) PGD is the most advanced pre-implantation screening to date, with each sample given an additional molecular code to eliminate the possibility of errors. The DNA collected from the embryo is tested directly, without the use of lights or markers as with earlier PGD screenings.

The PGD-NGS tests all 24 chromosomes with a single cell from the embryo, and contains information that indicates not just the condition of the embryo but the potential health risks of the child decades down the line. NGS is expected to change the world of genetics in time to come, offering uncannily accurate predictions of a person’s health conditions even before birth, fully embodying its name as a screening of the ‘next generation’.